top of page

2022 , Asia Cup : Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan Match Highlights

Updated: Sep 22, 2022

2022 Asia Cup - 11icBlog2

The 2022 Asia Cup, this year will be a T20 affair as it will be followed by T20 World Cup. This competition features six teams divided into two groups.

Group A comprises of India, Pakistan and Hong Kong, while Group B has Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

The teams play each other once in their respective groups before the top two teams from both groups advance to the Super 4s. After a round-robin stage in Super 4s, the top two teams will play the final.

As a start of this tournament last Saturday , Afghanistan made a thrilling all-round performance after they won the toss and elected to bowl first and lead Afghanistan to make a victory after defeating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets.

Sri Lanka VS Afghanistan Match Highlights:

Afghanistan on Saturday defeated Sri Lanka by eight wickets in the opening match of the Asia Cup at the Dubai International Stadium. Chasing a target of 106, Afghanistan reached the target with 59 balls to spare. Hazratullah Zazai hit an unbeaten 37 while Rahmanullah Gurbaz scored a quickfire 38 at the top of the order. Earlier,Fazalhaq Farooqi starred with a spell of three for 11 as Afghanistan bowled out Sri Lanka for 105. After being put into bat, Sri Lanka were tottering at five for three as Farooqi and Naveen-ul-Haq ran riot in the first two overs. Farooqi struck twice in the first over to dismiss Kusal Perera and Charith Asalanka, before Naveen-ul-Haq got the better of Pathum Nissanka in the next over. Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Danushka Gunthilaka added 44 runs for the fourth wicket before Mujeeb-ur-Rahman gave the latter his marching orders.

Match Info:

Match: Asia Cup 2022, Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan

Date and Time: Saturday, August 27, 2022 / 07:30 pm IST

Toss: Afghanistan won the toss and opt to bowl

Umpire: Ahsan Raza (Pakistan) and Anil Kumar Chaudhary (India)

Third Umpire: Jayaraman Madanagopal (India)

Sri Lanka Playing Squad:

Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana

Sri Lanka Bench:

Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffrey Vandersay, Asitha Fernando, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Pramod Madushan, Nuwan Thushara

Afghanistan Playing Squad:

Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (c), Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Afghanistan Bench:

Samiullah Shinwari, Noor Ahmad, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Usman Ghani

For more thrilling update, check and visit 11ic.

12 views0 comments


bottom of page