top of page

2022 ICC Awards: Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year

Updated: Mar 14, 2023

2022 ICC Awards - 11icBLog2

In recognition of his absurdly successful run in the game's shortest format, swashbuckling Indian batsman Suryakumar Yadav was named the ICC Men's T20I Cricketer of the Year on Wednesday (January 25).

Surya had an outstanding 2022, shattering a number of records and setting a standard for the format.

He triumphed over Sam Curran, Mohammad Rizwan, a Pakistani wicketkeeper-batsman, and Sikandar Raza, a Zimbabwean all-round batsman, to win the title.

However, Tahlia McGrath of Australia defeated India's vice-captain and Cricketer of the Year from the previous year, Smriti Mandhana.

Sky’s Dominant Year!!

The 32-year-old, also known by the nickname "SKY," concluded the year as the top run-scorer with 1164 runs at a strike-rate of 187.43, becoming just the second player in T20I history to surpass 1,000 runs in a calendar year.

Surya's astounding 68 sixes over the year are unquestionably the most ever recorded in a calendar year in the history of the game.

With two hundreds and nine half-centuries, the Indian was his team's primary batter during the entire year.

Surya scored three fifties in six innings and averaged close to 60 during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia.

Notably, his strike-rate was once more very high with 189.68.

After the multi-nation competition, Suryakumar, who had already scored a century earlier in the year, continued his outstanding year by scoring his second hundred in T20Is during the bilateral series in New Zealand.

The highest-rated T20 player is Surya, who achieved a career-high 890 rating points.

Would he maintain his dominant playing skill for this incoming years on his T20I journey?

For more Cricket Sport Update , Check and visit 11ic for details

11 views0 comments


bottom of page