top of page

Big Bash League 2022-23 Match 1

Big Bash League 2022-23 Match 1 by 11ic

The opening match of the Big Bash League 2022-23 will see the Sydney Thunder taking on the Melbourne Stars. Sydney Thunder and Melbourne Stars' BBL championship campaigns get underway in Canberra. The Thunder have excelled in the BBL, regularly making the playoffs in recent years. But since Jason Sangha has been named the new captain, Usman Khawaja won't be playing for them this season. They will start as the favorites because they still have a side that is well-balanced and capable of winning the game. Even though Glenn Maxwell is not on the Melbourne Stars' roster this season, they still hope to at least reach the postseason. Adam Zampa and Marcus Stoinis put on strong performances, so The Stars shouldn't be overlooked. All in all, the game is expected to be exciting as both the Stars and Thunder want to start off their BBL seasons strong.

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder

Sydney Thunder won by 1 wicket

One of the greatest matches ever, and a dramatic start to the year. Everything was in place, including late-inning wickets and a retired player who hurt the first innings' run total. With one wicket remaining, the final ball went past the leg stump and was missed by the keeper for a bye, leaving 1 required off it.

By the slimmest of margins, the Thunders prevail, and Sandhu's 20 in the dying seconds is what pushes them over the finish line. Although they started, Ross and Sangha were unable to finish. Hales and Green both contributed a few runs at the end and the beginning, respectively. In order to cross the line, they used the power surge that came on really late in the evening, and a boundary that was there in order to assist them.

Brody Couch, the substitute fielder, and the bowlers made every effort to stop it from being attacked, and they nearly succeeded. Boult, Webster, Coulter-Nile, and Zampa each took two wickets, and Zampa became the sixth player in the BBL to reach 100 wickets. They needed just one more wicket to win the match, but Sandhu took it away from them when they were unable to secure it. As part of the support to the bowlers, Couch made two incredible catches and played well in the field.

Sydney Thunder - Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Baxter Holt, Alex Hales, Oliver Davies, David Willey, Nathan McAndrew, David Warner, Rilee Rossouw, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, Jason Sangha.

Melbourne Stars - Hilton Cartwright, Joe Burns, Adam Zampa, Brody Couch, Joe Clarke, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Clint Hinchliffe, Liam Hatcher, Trent Boult, Glenn Maxwell, Nick Larkin, Marcus Stoinis, Luke Wood, Beau Webster.

Match 1 of Big Bash League 2022-23 happened at Manuka Oval in Canberra Griffith, Australia.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page