top of page

Big Bash League 2022-23 Match 17

Big Bash League 2022-23  Match 17 by 11ic

The Sydney Thunder and Brisbane Heat will square off in the 17th game of the Big Bash League 2022–23. Despite the Heat having played one more game than the Thunder, both of these teams currently have two points to their names. They will be extremely bothered by the latter team's inconspicuous ranking at the bottom of the league standings. On the other hand, their rivals are positioned in the same standings at number six and have high expectations of moving up even further. Even though the Thunder are currently holding the wooden spoon, they haven't fared too badly overall. The talented off-spinner Chris Green is anticipated to captain the team, with Gurinder Sandhu, a fast bowler, working alongside him. The Thunder's expected lead batsman is Englishman Alex Hales, and it will take a lot for him to motivate his teammates after their dreadful 15 all-out performance against the Adelaide Strikers earlier in the season.

Jimmy Peirson, the wicketkeeper batsman for the Heat, has managed his team admirably from behind the stumps. In order to deliver an inspired performance, international stars Colin Munro and Sam Billings will be hoping to, and this will give them a lot of confidence. Australian Matt Renshaw, who will start the first Test match, has also demonstrated his talent this year and will be hoping to keep it up. Michael Neser, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, and Matthew Kuhnemann will follow Michael Neser in the bowling order of performance.

Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder

Sydney Thunder won by 10 wickets

The Heat have been completely destroyed. Just that easy. The Sydney Thunder were the stars of the show from beginning to end. The Thunder have improved upon their previous homecoming, going from compiling a questionable 15 to returning in style with a 10-wicket victory at the same location. For the Heat, 121 was never going to be enough, and when Matthew Gilkes started the powerplay, it was a sign of things to come. Gilkes, who had the appropriate appearance, and Alex Hales, who were initially scratchy, persevered to forge a strong alliance. Hales then flipped a switch, and the situation was quickly resolved as a result.

Jimmy Peirson gave it his all; he regularly mixed pace and spin among his bowlers and rotated them among them. He and his bowlers had no luck, though. In many ways, it was an encapsulation of the entire game, with the Heat simply not showing up. With the ball skidding on nicely under lights, the wicket also got much better for batting. That reduced the target of 122 even more, and Hales is difficult to stop once he gets going. Following the beverage break, Gilkes attacked Mitchell Swepson with the Power Surge before Hales finished it off elegantly with a boundary. Both batters completed what they started by reaching their respective half-centuries, earning a few significant points and dramatically increasing their net run rate. Being humiliated by the Adelaide Strikers earlier in the competition made that much more necessary. And perhaps this is the performance that starts them on a little roll. The Heat, on the other hand, must start over and figure out how to fix their batting problems, which have obviously continued into yet another season.

Brisbane Heat - James Bazley, Max Bryant, Usman Khawaja, Ross Whiteley, Sam Heazlett, Matthew Kuhnemann, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Xavier Bartlett, Sam Billings, Will Prestwidge, Michael Neser, Colin Munro, Jimmy Peirson, Mark Steketee, Jack Wildermuth, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Spencer Johnson.

Sydney Thunder - Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Brendan Doggett, Baxter Holt, Alex Hales, Oliver Davies, David Willey, Rilee Rossouw, Nathan McAndrew, David Warner, Jason Sangha, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha.

Match 17 of Big Bash League 2022-23 happened at Sydney Showground Stadium in Sydney Olympic Park Sydney, Australia

2 views0 comments


bottom of page