top of page

Big Bash League 2022-23 Match 8

Big Bash League 2022-23  Match 8  by 11ic

In game 8 of the Big Bash League 2022–23, the Hobart Hurricanes and the Perth Scorchers will set the stage for a pitched battle. The Hurricanes lost to the Melbourne Stars while the Scorchers, the defending champions, defeated the Sydney Sixers to get off to a winning start in their respective seasons.

It's ironic that the results were the same, with the Scorchers winning by the same margin as the Hurricanes losing by the same margin of 38 runs. After being subjected to Joe Clarke's masterclass, the Hobart bowlers will be eager to put it behind them. They do, however, possess the talent, as Riley Meredith can rev up the speedometers and Nathan Ellis handles the death bowling. Shadab Khan, one of the best wristspinners in the world, is on their team, and Patrick Dooley, a left-arm wristspinner, will be closely watched because of his unusual bowling style. They must make a fresh start today after their star-studded batting lineup failed them yesterday. Tim David is quickly gaining a reputation as one of the most destructive T20 finishers on the planet, while D'Arcy Short, Ben McDermott, and captain Matthew Wade are all capable of winning matches on their own. Given the bounce available to seamers in these circumstances, Asif Ali may find it difficult, but it's an opportunity for him to show his abilities.

Despite this, facing the Scorchers' factory-style fast-bowling lineup is never simple. So much so that they didn't even need to start Tymal Mills in their first game, and Peter Hatzoglou the leg spinner also didn't play. Jhye Richardson is incredibly dependable in all situations, Jason Behrendorff can win games on his own in the powerplay, and Andrew Tye keeps up his good work year after year. The defending champions have access to one of the most astute defensive spinners in Ashton Agar, who completes the attack with a lethal pack. However, since they won't have Mitchell Marsh available this year, their batting unit is where the concerns lie. Josh Inglis and captain Ashton Turner lead the middle order, while Faf du Plessis adds a wealth of experience up top. They were in a hopeless situation against the Sixers at 49/5 when Aaron Hardie, who carries a lot of anticipation for his talent, scored a brilliant half-century to save them. However, the burden will be lessened on the young player, who could still have a significant impact this season with more contributions up top.

The multiple All-Star hitters for the Hurricanes and the unstoppable Scorchers attack could end up going head-to-head in this match. Matthew Wade and company have an advantage at home. will take pleasure in, and they'll try to recover and get the season's "Cane Train" moving.

Perth Scorchers vs Hobart Hurricanes

Hobart Hurricanes won by 8 runs

For the Hurricanes, Dooley has triumphed. Their needs have been met, and each of them at the ideal time, thanks to his 4 wickets. Beginning strong, du Plessis then nearly helped the Scorcher win thanks to a strong partnership between Turner and Inglis. With a well-timed power surge, they took control of the chase, but Dooley's second spell ended the game.

By breaking the first partnership, he was able to stop du Plessis from winning the game for them. Then, having reached his 50th run, Inglis, who would have ultimately won it, was dismissed. They were assisted in this by Meredith's two wickets, Shadab's one wicket, and Nathan's one wicket each. Since Inglis was dropped by Short at 33 and went on to score 62 in the end, Short will be the happiest man alive. At the end of match 8 Hobart Hurricanes won by 8 runs against Perth Scorchers.

Hobart Hurricanes - Tim David, Faheem Ashraf, Nathan Ellis, Shadab Khan, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Mac Wright, Asif Ali, Riley Meredith, Joel Paris, Mitch Owen, Wil Parker, Matthew Wade, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Chris Tremain, Paddy Dooley.

Perth Scorchers - Jason Behrendorff , Cameron Bancroft, Cooper Connolly, Aaron Hardie, Laurie Evans, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Peter Hatzoglou, Nick Hobson, Matthew Kelly, Josh Inglis, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Tymal Mills, Ashton Turner, Phil Salt.

Match 8 of Big Bash League 2022-23 happened at Aurora Stadium in Launceston, Australia.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page