top of page

Big Bash League 2022-23 Qualifier Round

Big Bash League 2022-23 Qualifier Round by 11ic

In the Big Bash League Qualifier Round for 2022–23, the Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers will square off. With the three other teams that joined them in the knockout rounds, the Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers have continued to be the event's outstanding teams over the years and have appeared several notches ahead of their competitors this tournament. Another spot in the summit match is at stake when the two teams redraw the battle lines during the qualifier at Perth Stadium, with the victor receiving the right to host the entire event. Given that they have been without several important players due to injury, the Scorchers' ability to secure a home qualifier is a strong indication of the depth in their team.

In addition, they won't have Jhye Richardson or Matthew Kelly available for today's game. They still have Jason Behrendorff, Andrew Tye, Lance Morris, and English import David Payne to turn to, and he has also left his own mark. Although Peter Hatzoglou is more than capable of holding his own as a spinner, Ashton Agar's absence puts their balance into perspective. While Cameron Bancroft and Josh Inglis have been reliable and consistent, Aaron Hardie has had a breakout season at the plate. At the top of the order, Stephen Eskinazi has been a breath of fresh air, and the home team is in good shape with Ashton Turner available to bat out the innings.

However, the Sixers, who are their ugliest rivals, can also be said to fit this description. The focus of conversation over the past three games has been Steven Smith, the T20 batter, reinventing himself. He will play in this game today for the last time before leaving for India to compete for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, and he has the potential to make or break the game. In spite of that, the Sixers have a lot of resources available to them on all fronts. The team's captain Moises Henriques, Kurtis Patterson, Jordan Silk, and the perpetually young Dan Christian all provide quality play with the bat in different phases, and Dan Christian also serves as a game-changer. Josh Philippe hasn't exactly been on fire this season, but a trip back to his native country and to a major stage might be just the thing to spark him. Ben Dwarshuis is a dependable player in all three phases, and Sean Abbott continues to enjoy taking wickets with the ball. The three-time champions have a stronger spin lineup than the Scorchers thanks to Todd Murphy, Izharulhaq Naveed, and the ageless Steve O'Keefe.

Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers

With their captain leading the way, the Scorchers storm into yet another championship game. What a team they are, and at home they are even harder to beat. They advance to their eighth BBL Final thanks to a scorching victory. Turner, their captain, had his best T20 score and delivered a match-winning performance.

With Abbott in attack, who took all three wickets in his first two overs, the Sixers had the upper hand for just the first four overs of the game. A Turner-Bancroft show followed that. a masterful chase, with the two working together at a good pace. With 15 boundaries and a six between them, they have successfully defended it against all other bowlers.

Perth Scorchers - Nick Hobson, Cameron Bancroft, Phil Salt, Cooper Connolly, Jason Behrendorff,Aaron Hardie, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Peter Hatzoglou, Laurie Evans, Matthew Kelly, Josh Inglis, Lance Morris, Tymal Mills, Ashton Turner, Mitch Marsh.

Sydney Sixers - Dan Christian, Jackson Bird, Jordan Silk, Daniel Hughes, Ben Dwarshuis, Moises Henriques, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, James Vince, Sean Abbott, Kurtis Patterson, Chris Jordan, Izharulhaq Naveed, Steve O'Keefe, Josh Philippe.

Qualifier Round of Big Bash League 2022-23 happened at The Perth Stadium in Perth Western, Australia.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page