top of page

ICC Announces Next T20 World Cup Schedule for 2024

Updated: Mar 8

Attention cricket fans worldwide! Get ready for the 9th edition of the next T20 World Cup as the International Cricket Council (ICC) reveals the full schedule. From June 1st to 29th, 2024, the West Indies and the cricket-loving United States will host a thrilling tournament. Sixteen nations will compete for T20 glory in this exciting cricketing spectacle. Expect high-octane action and suspenseful moments in this cricketing spectacle. Witness the emergence of a new champion as the T20 World Cup unfolds.

next t20 world cup

Hosting the ICC Men's Next T20 World Cup 2024

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that various stadiums across the United States. It will host 55 matches from June 1 to June 29. The United States and the West Indies are co-hosts for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup. This will mark the first-ever ICC cricket competition held in the United States.

Highlight Match: India vs Pakistan in New York

The schedule highlights a much-anticipated match between India and Pakistan set to take place in New York City on June 9. The tournament begins on June 1 in Dallas with a match between the United States and Canada. Barbados has scheduled the grand finale for June 29. The semi-finals will take place in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana.

Teams Making Debut and Reigning Champions

Canada, the USA, and Uganda will make their first appearance in the men's T20 World Cup. England, the reigning champions, secured victory against Pakistan in Melbourne. This was during the 2022 T20 World Cup final.

New T20 World Cup Format: From Super 12 to Four Groups

The previous format, used until 2022, included a Super 12 stage, a knockout phase. This also includes a qualification round involving associate and lower-ranked nations. The 2024 event features four groups, each comprising five teams. The top two teams from each group move on to the Super Eight stage. This stage precedes the knockout semifinals and championship match.

A Tournament with Historic Firsts

This edition of the next T20 World Cup boasts several historic firsts. This tournament represents the first time hosting across two continents. It will be the lively West Indies and the growing cricketing nation of the United States. This strategic move aims to not only showcase the sport's global appeal but also tap into the immense potential of the US market. Additionally, the United States will host its first-ever ICC World Cup matches. This marks a monumental moment for American cricket.

The Format and the Contenders

The organizing committee has divided the 16 participating teams into two groups, Group A and Group B.

Each group will witness round-robin matches. This ensures that each team has an opportunity to showcase their skills against various opponents. The top two teams from each group will progress to the Super 8 stage, where they will be further grouped and play another round of round-robin matches. The top four teams from the Super 8 stage will then battle it out in the thrilling knockout rounds – two semi-finals and a nail-biting final.

Headliners and Underdogs

The tournament offers an exciting clash between cricketing powerhouses and promising underdog teams. Defending their title, England is determined to retain the championship, led by the charismatic Eoin Morgan. The teams are facing tough competition from India with a strong batting lineup led by Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. The explosive Australian team is also a formidable contender. This team will be under the experienced leadership of Aaron Finch,

Up-and-coming teams like Sri Lanka, boasting the spin-bowling expertise of Wanindu Hasaranga, have the potential to surprise and reshape the narrative. Similarly, Afghanistan showcased their talented pace attack led by Rashid Khan. The Afghanistan team is another team with the capability to make an impact. Debuting teams like Canada and Nepal are eager to establish their prowess on the global stage in the T20 World Cup.

Key Facts and Figures

  • Matches: 45 group stage matches, 8 Super 8 matches, 2 semi-finals, and 1 final

  • Venues: 8 stadiums across the West Indies (Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados, St. Lucia) and the United States (Florida, New York)

  • Participating Teams: 16 (divided into two groups)

  • Defending Champions: England

Predicted Matches and Potential Blockbusters

The tournament schedule throws up some mouth-watering clashes right from the get-go. The opening match on June 1st will see arch-rivals India and Pakistan lock horns in a highly anticipated encounter. Other must-watch matches include England vs Australia, West Indies vs Sri Lanka, and the debutants Canada vs Nepal.

The upcoming ICC Men's T20 World Cup will feature a record 20 teams, divided into four groups, competing in 55 games to determine the 2024 champions. Co-hosts West Indies and the USA, along with other qualifiers such as Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea (PNG), Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and Uganda, will participate.

Next T20 World Cup Tournament Groups and Opening Matches

The organizing committee has divided these 20 teams into four groups of five. In each group, the top two teams will advance to the Super Eights.

  • Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and the USA

  • Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman

  • Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea

  • Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, the Netherlands, and Nepal

The tournament kicks off with the co-hosts launching their campaigns on the first two days of June. The USA faces Canada in the tournament opener at the Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Dallas on June 1. On the other hand, the West Indies begins their campaign against Papua New Guinea at the Guyana National Stadium on June 2.

Key Group Stage Matches

A significant match in the group stage is the rivalry between India and Pakistan. Scheduled for June 9 in New York, a state-of-the-art 34,000-seat modular stadium will host the event. The defending champions, England, start their title defense on June 4 in Barbados against Scotland, and Pakistan faces the USA on June 6 in Dallas.

Other notable fixtures include Sri Lanka versus South Africa in New York on June 3. England will face Australia in Barbados on June 8. The West Indies will take on New Zealand on June 12 at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad and Tobago.


First-time qualifiers Uganda play their inaugural ICC Men’s T20 World Cup fixture against Afghanistan in Guyana on June 3. Nepal, returning to the T20 World Cup for the first time since 2014, begins their campaign against Sri Lanka. The match will take place at Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida.

After the group stage, the top two teams from each group move into the Super Eight stage. Scheduled matches will be in popular Caribbean tourist destinations. This includes Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

The two leading teams from each Super Eight group will progress to the semi-finals. Guyana will host the semi-finals on June 26, while Trinidad and Tobago will host them on June 27. The final will take place at the Kensington Oval in Barbados on June 29.

47 views0 comments


bottom of page