top of page

New Zealand vs Bangladesh 1st T20I 2022

The first of three T20Is will feature a match between New Zealand Women and Bangladesh Women. As the guests arrive in the limited-overs series, they are coming off the back of a disappointing Asia Cup in which the defending champions failed to make it past the preliminary rounds. When they play the Kiwis, who have a spotless home record, they will be put to the test. New Zealand, led by Sophie Devine, defeated the West Indies 4-1 in the September–October series, and they are entering the three-match matchup with confidence. In the upcoming series against the Asian side before the start of the 50-over series on December 11, the Commonwealth Games bronze medalists will be hoping for another ruthless performance.

The Hagley Oval's surface is great for batting and provides very little room for bowlers to move laterally. Because of the shorter boundaries and quick outfield, the batters at this location also benefit. For the bowlers, the only relief comes from the strong breeze that frequently blows into the open ground. The toss winner's team will likely decide to bat first in an effort to raise a significant total.

Suzie Bates, a veteran opener and best batter for New Zealand, had a memorable WBBL tournament but tragically lost in the championship game to Adelaide Strikers. The graceful batter was their fourth-leading run-scorer in the recently concluded tournament after scoring 318 runs for the losing finalists in 14 innings. One of the discoveries for New Zealand cricket is a young left-arm spinner named Fran Jonas. The 18-year-old has only taken ten wickets for the Kiwis in the game's shortest format in her brief career, and she has done so at a pitiful economy rate of 4 point 43. She will have lots of chances, thanks to the series, to boost her international standing.

New Zealand Women - Amelia Kerr, Suzie Bates, Georgia Plimmer, Jess Kerr, Sophie Devine, Maddy Green, Isabella Gaze, Lauren Down, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Eden Carson.

Bangladesh Women - Nigar Sultana, Fargana Hoque, Ritu Moni, Fahima Khatun, Murshida Khatun, Rumana Ahmed, Shohely Akhter, Sobhana Mostary, Salma Khatun, Shanjida Akter, Jahanara Alam.

1st T20I New Zealand Women vs Bangladesh Women 2022 happened at Hagley Oval cricket ground in Hagley Park in the central city of Christchurch, New Zealand.

3 views0 comments


bottom of page