top of page

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022 Finals :Qualified Teams " Chepauk Super Gillies  and Lyca Kovai King"

Updated: Sep 22, 2022

Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022 - 11icBlog2

The 6th season of Tamil Nadu Premier League 2022 was about to end.

After competing 32 matches , 8 franchise team is now down to 2 for the Final match.

Chepauk Super Gillies  and Lyca Kovai Kings made their spots in the final match to win the 2022 Tamil Nadu Premier League.

Let us know the two teams who qualified to the finals and how they get in the final match.

First , the Chepauk Super Gillies . After winning the Qualifier 1 against Nellai Royal Kings , Chepauk Super Gillie secured the spots to the final match by 5 wickets with the lead of  R. Sai Kishore  who is awarded as the Player of the match.

Chepauk Super Gilliesis a cricket team who represent the Chennai City Chepauk Super Gillies are the champion of 2021 Tamil Nadu Premier League.

Qualifier 1 Match Highlights:

After Kaushik Gandhi the team captain of Chepauk Super Gillies on the toss and asked the Royal Kings to bat first. The Kings didn’t have the best of starts, as they only reached 33-1 at the end of the powerplay. Baba Aparajith scored 33, but his departure stymied their progress.

The Royal Kings kept losing wickets at regular intervals, but M Shajahan played a good cameo of 25 off 13 balls to help his team post 140 on the board. M Siddharth, Sandeep Warrier, and Sonu Yadav picked up two wickets apiece for the Super Gillies.

In response, the Super Gillies had a poor start to their chase, losing Narayan Jagadeesan and Radhakrishnan in the first over. Kaushik Gandhi and Sai Kishore led the recovery for the defending champions before Kishore departed for 43 to precipitate a middle-order collapse.

However, experienced campaigner Rajagopal Sathish played a fabulous knock of 31* off 19 deliveries to take his team across the line with four balls to spare. Karthick Manikandan, on his debut, bowled brilliantly, finishing with figures of 3-14 but the Royal Kings were beaten by five wickets.

And lastly , Lyca Kovai Kings , a cricket team representing Coimbatore city of Tamil Nadu, owned by Lyca Production.

Lyca Kovai Kings is the second team who complete the final match after winning the 2nd Qualifier match against Nellai Royal Kings by 2 wickets with Masood Shahrukh Khan as the Player of the match

Qualifier 2 Match Highlights:

After Lyca Kovai Kings skipper Shahrukh Khan won the toss and opted to bowl first. The Nellai Royal Kings got off to a solid start, thanks to a good knock of 34 from Sri Neranjan.

Baba Aparajith looked good for his 44 but Sanjay Yadav played an outstanding knock of 55 off 26 balls to shift the momentum back towards the Royal Kings.

G Ajitesh in the death overs played a sensational cameo of 32 off 13 balls to help his side post 208 on the board in their 20 overs. Abhishek Tanwar and Manish Ravi for the Lyca Kovai Kings picked up two wickets each with the ball.

It was a daunting task ahead of the Lyca Kovai Kings to chase down this mammoth total. Their batters contributed but they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Sai Sudharsan scored a fifty but lost his wicket at crucial juncture in the match.

However, skipper Shahrukh Khan went berserk right from the start of his innings as he remained unbeaten on 58 off just 24 balls to guide his side across the line on the last ball of the match.

Karthick Manikandan picked up three wickets with the ball but the side failed to hold their nerves as they lost the game by two wickets.

Who do you think will win the tournament?

For update, check and visit 11ic.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page