top of page

Women's Asia Cup 2022 Finals

Women's Asia Cup 2022 Finals by 11ic

The final of the Women's Asia Cup 2022 will feature Sri Lanka and India Women after 23 matches. All but one of India's games have been won in this tournament. The India team has played well as a unit, with Jemimah Rodrigues and Deepti Sharma standing out. Recently, Sri Lanka has found its groove, beating Pakistan in the semi-finals. Chamari Athapaththu and Co. lost to the Indians in the group stage. Given their recent success, they will fancy their chances. As both teams aim for the Women's Asia Cup trophy, Sylhet promises to be a cracker of a match.

India got the job done in only 8.3 overs of their run chase, as it was a question of when rather than if. The Indian batters showed impressive intent, not thinking about taking the innings deep and finishing things off quickly, by denting the spirits of the opposition bowlers right from the start. Smriti Mandhana scored an unbeaten half-century on a tricky pitch.

There were a few wickets taken by Sri Lanka Women, but they came between some fantastic batsmanship. In addition, Sri Lankan spinners seemed more concerned with sliding the ball through than putting enough revs on it. Harmanpreet Kaur's decision to remain at the crease when the winning runs were scored was quite fitting. It could not have been better for her to play her 137th T20I game in the Asia Cup Final. As well as that, Smriti Mandhana scored the winning runs in style.

Unfortunately, Sri Lanka was unable to match the Indians' power in the grand finale despite playing excellent cricket to get there. Throughout today, India played outstandingly and deservedly won. With 217 runs, Jemimah Rodrigues finishes the tournament as the top run scorer, while Deepti Sharma, along with Inoka Ranaweera, take 13 wickets.

A seventh title was won by India Women in the history of the tournament. The women in blue put on a fantastic performance. Their victory after the tournament culminates with the title. India Women won by 8 wickets against Sri Lanka Women.

Sri Lanka Women vs India Women

India Women won by 8 wickets

India Women - Deepti Sharma, Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Sabbineni Meghana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Richa Ghosh, Sneh Rana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Dayalan Hemalatha, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, K.P. Navgire, Simran Dil Bahadur, Taniya Sapna Bhatia.

Sri Lanka Women - Chamari Athapaththu, Kaveesha Dilhari, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Kaushini Nuthyanga, Anushka Sanjeevani, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Inoka Ranaweera, Madushika Meththananda, Rashmi Silva, Achini Kulasooriya, Sugandika Kumari, Tharika Sewwandi, Hasini Perera.

Finals of Women's Asia Cup T20 2022 happened at the Sylhet Outer Cricket Stadium in Sylhet, Bangladesh.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page