top of page

Women's Big Bash League 2022 Challenger

Women's Big Bash League 2022 Challenger by 11ic

In the Women's Big Bash League 2022 Challenger round, the Brisbane Heat Women will take on a face-to-face the match with Adelaide Strikers Women. It was eight wins out of fourteen for the Adelaide Strikers Women as they finished the league stage in second place with 17 points after winning eight games out of fourteen. In their last league match, they defeated Sydney Thunder Women by 26 runs to secure a place in the Challenger. As the Strikers were asked to bat first, Laura Wolvaardt scored a great 75 at the top of the order to help them reach 144 on the board after they were given the opportunity to bat. The Thunder Women were knocked over by Megan Schutt, who picked up six-wickets as part of her six-wicket haul.

On the other hand, Brisbane Heat Women finished fourth in the league stage. To keep themselves alive in the Women's Big Bash League 2022, they defeated the Hobart Hurricanes convincingly in the Eliminator to remain undefeated. A total of 179 runs was posted by the Brisbane Heat after being asked to bat first by Danielle Wyatt (52 off 38 balls) and Laura Harris (44 off 14 balls). Due to their bowling, the bowlers restricted the Hurricanes Women to 135/9 for a 44-run victory. In the Challenger event, the skipper Jess Jonassen will look to continue his winning momentum with a score of 4/23.

Brisbane Heat Women vs Adelaide Strikers Women

Adelaide Strikers Women won by 6 wickets

Both teams did not budge during this contest. After executing the basics better than the Heat, the Strikers held their nerve under pressure, meaning they can now improve on last year's final. It was quite a chase, though! It took seven overs for the team to reach 32/2 with Jess Kerr tying down the top-order and her teammates benefiting from her efforts. There was a time in Laura Wolvaardt's life when she had an optimistic outlook on life, but with a few fortunate outcomes coming her way, she was also able to live a charmed life even more so than before.

In a counterattack of the highest level, the World Boss took center stage. The ball stays hit when Deandra Dottin hits it. During this process, she smashed the ball all around the field, propelling the Strikers forward and restoring their lead. While Georgia Redmayne held onto the match despite her unfortunate wicket and having to walk off the pitch, she suffered a tweaked left achilles from her unfortunate dismissal. As Wolvaardt continued to make the most of her good fortune, the Heat did not help their cause with quite a few shelled opportunities following that. It wasn't really her game, but her wicket changed everything. When 33 runs were required off the last three overs of a game, a Power Surge was activated, and Bridget Patterson took the initiative to ensure the victory, even as Madeline Penna struggled to center the ball at the other end, resulting in a victory for the girls. In the final over, Penna took over to pierce the field with surgical precision to seal the deal and ensure victory with a thunderous six from the former.

A special mention must be made of Patterson's partnership with Wolvaardt, where they faced minimal dot deliveries and were able to keep the scoreboard ticking, which allowed the Heat to feel the pressure at the end of the game. Those two things sealed the deal for them in many ways, as well as Dottin's counterattack. In this match Adelaide Strikers Women won by 6 wickets against Brisbane Heat Women.

Adelaide Strikers Women - Laura Wolvaardt, Meagan Dixon, Katie Mack., Ella Wilson, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson, Jemma Barsby, Deandra Dottin, Annie O’Neil, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Tahlia McGrath, Megan Schutt, Darcie Brown, Anesu Mushangwe, Maddie Penna.

Brisbane Heat Women - Georgia Redmayne, Danni Wyatt, Lucy Hamilton, Nicola Hancock, Mikayla Hinkley, Jess Kerr, Ellie Johnston, Grace Harris, Charli Knott, Laura Harris, Grace Parsons, Jess Jonassen, Courtney Sippel, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Georgia Voll.

Challenger Round of Women's Big Bash League 2022 happened at Karen Rolton Oval cricket ground in Adelaide, South Australia.

3 views0 comments


bottom of page