top of page

Women's Big Bash League 2022 Final

Women's Big Bash League 2022 Final by 11ic

In the Women's Big Bash League 2022 Final round, the Sydney Sixers Women will take on a face-to-face the match with Adelaide Strikers Women. After dominating the points standings, Sydney Sixers Women secured a spot in the championship. They finished with 23 points, finished first in the table, and won 11 of their 14 games. The team is enjoying an excellent season in the competition and will be trying to step up one last time to ensure their success. Hobart Hurricanes Women lost to Sydney Sixers Women in the most recent league contest. First to bowl, Kate Peterson claimed three wickets as they dismissed the Hurricanes Women for 156. In order to reach the goal in the last round, they received assistance from Ellyse Perry (56*) and Ashleigh Gardner (45*).

On the other hand, Adelaide Strikers Women finished the league stage in second place. They finished with 17 points after winning eight of their 14 games. In the Challenger, they took on the Brisbane Heat Women, and won, earning a spot in the championship game. Megan Schutt, who was assigned to bowl first, took three wickets and assisted the Strikers Women in holding the Heat Women to 154/8. As they attempted to reach the goal with two balls remaining, Bridget Patterson (45*), Deandra Dottin (39), and Laura Wolvaardt (47), all made contributions with the bat. After the six-wicket victory, they'll be feeling good about themselves and will try to match it in the championship game against the Sixers Women.

Sydney Sixers Women vs Adelaide Strikers Women

The Adelaide Strikers is now the fifth WBBL champion. The Adelaide Strikers' retribution is achieved. When they fell short to the Perth Scorchers last season, their campaign came to a heartbreaking end. There are some tears tonight too, but they are of an entirely different nature. In order to win the first title in WBBL history, the Strikers made an unexpected performance.

The Sydney Sixers is inconsolable. They were the best team during the group stages of the competition, and it looked as though they would be the clear winners at the conclusion of the match. Their bowlers did an excellent job of limiting the Strikers to what appeared to be a below-par total at the halfway point, putting them in control of this match.

As a result of the outstanding bowling unit that Adelaide had throughout the tournament, even if not the best, they were the sole team responsible for this victory. They got off to a rousing start to have the Sixers stumbling at 14-4 after 6 overs with their backs against the wall. Darcie Brown started things off by dismissing Healy, but Deandra Dottin, the World Boss, was the one to seize control of the situation.

Adelaide's first innings total was made possible by her half-century, which she scored. In her first over, she added to that by taking out Bates and Gardner to bring a team back into the game with a double wicket maiden. In addition, despite Ellyse Perry's best efforts to steady the ship, the experience of Burns and Bolton was insufficient to aid Sydney in this rescue.

With the captain receiving credit for the majority of her bowling changes, Tahlia McGrath's captaincy merits attention as well. The Women in Pink became alarmed when Darcie Brown re-entered the game to oust the Sixers captain. While Maitlan Brown and Sophie Ecclestone put up a valiant fight for a few overs, it was the Strikers who ultimately emerged victorious, winning their first WBBL championship and making history in the process.

Sydney Sixers Women - Sophie Ecclestone, Ellyse Perry, Suzie Bates, Kate Peterson, Erin Burns, Angelina Genford, Ashleigh Gardner, Jade Allen, Nicole Bolton, Alyssa Healy, Maitlan Brown, Lauren Cheatle, Stella Campbell.

Adelaide Strikers Women - Laura Wolvaardt, Meagan Dixon, Katie Mack., Ella Wilson, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson, Jemma Barsby, Deandra Dottin, Annie O’Neil, Tahlia McGrath, Megan Schutt, Darcie Brown, Anesu Mushangwe, Maddie Penna, Amanda-Jade Wellington.

Final match of Women's Big Bash League 2022 happened at North Sydney Oval North Sydney, New South Wales, Australia.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page