top of page

Women's Big Bash League 2022 Match 18

Women's Big Bash League 2022 Match 18 by 11ic

Women's Big Bash League 2022 match 18 is between Sydney Thunder Women and Brisbane Heat Women. There is a great deal of excitement surrounding this year's Women's Big Bash League. In spite of the fact that there is still a long way for the eight teams that compete for the title to go, it would seem that the competition has reached a stage where teams can't afford to make a mistake. The Sydney Thunder have passed that point quite easily. One win from five games is all the two-time champions have to show for it. However, things can change quickly in competitions like these, and a couple of wins could propel them to the top. Their campaign could suffer, though, if the opposite happens. After suffering three straight losses in the previous two weeks, they'll take heart from the fact that they beat the defending champions and table-toppers Perth Scorchers. Perhaps this is the beginning of their turnaround, but they simply need their batters to step up.

Only Phoebe Litchfield has scored more than 100 runs for Thunder, but Tammy Beaumont's form has been impressive, and skipper Rachael Haynes' prowess is well documented. She will have a lot to say as a top-class batter. The Scorchers' famed batting unit was dismantled by Lauren Smith's five-wicket haul with the ball. The White Ferns' Lea Tahuhu brings velocity to the fore and helps to keep Sammy-Jo Johnson in good stead. The Thunder have a tough task against the Brisbane Heat. After losing in a thriller to the Sydney Sixers in the tournament opener, the Heat have been unbeaten since then. They've been led by Georgia Redmayne, who's tops the batting charts with 183 runs. You would think the Heat team is going places considering Georgia Voll isn't far behind herself, and Grace Harris hasn't reached peak form yet. With skipper Jess Jonassen at the helm, the Heat have a world-class spinning option at their disposal. New Zealand's Jess Kerr leads the fast-bowling attack. With Amelia Kerr also heading that department, Pooja Vastrakar adds further balance to the overall team. There is no doubt that this side checks all the boxes.

By a score of 3 runs (DLS), Brisbane Heat defeated Sydney Thunder. Despite defending only 140 points, the Sydney Thunder briefly led after triggering a mini collapse. Nevertheless, when it comes to the hour, it comes to the clutch player to stand up and do everything in their power.

Sydney Thunder Womens Brisbane Heat Women

Brisbane Heat Women won by 3 runs (D/L method)

Brisbane Heat Women - Georgia Redmayne, Danni Wyatt, Lucy Hamilton, Nicola Hancock, Mikayla Hinkley, Jess Kerr, Ellie Johnston, Grace Harris, Charli Knott, Laura Harris, Grace Parsons, Jess Jonassen, Courtney Sippel, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Georgia Voll.

Sydney Thunder Women - Tammy Beaumont, Olivia Porter, Anika Learoyd, Tahlia Wilson, Phoebe Litchfield, Amy Jones, Hannah Darlington, Rachael Haynes, Jess Davidson, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Belinda Vakarewa, Corinne Hall, Chloe Tryon, Samantha Bates, Lauren Smith.

Match 18 of Women's Big Bash League 2022 happened at the Allan Border Field Stadium in Albion, Australia.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page